Architecture  —  Backlist BACK
Guilherme Wisnik (ed.), Kenneth Frampton, João Vilanova Artigas, Guilherme Wisnik (texts)

Gustavo Gili, 2010
145 pages
Fully illustrated, colour
ISBN: 9788425223532

João Vilanova Artigas was a Brazilian architect, a maestro of the so-called 'São Paulo School' who at the end of the 1950s adopted reinforced concrete as an expressive constructional language.

His projects and built works convey a wish to be exemplary and to contribute thereby to the country's technical and social development, an ambition typical of the city of São Paulo: the economic and industrial centre of Brazil, aloof from the hedonistic optimism of Río de Janeiro and its modern architecture, associated with Oscar Niemeyer.

For the first time outside of Brazil, 2G presents the widest selection of the work of this great architect, considered to be the key figure of the architecture created in São Paulo in the 1960s and 70s; an oeuvre defined by the meeting of poetic disquiet and constructional rigor.

João Vilanova Artigas's work, which spans five decades in all, is prolific and extensive. Oustanding works are the Louveira Building (1946-1949), Vilanova Artigas's second house (1949), the Baeta House (1956-1957), the Rubens de Mendonça House (1958-1959), the second Taques Bittencourt house (1959), the Ivo Viterito House (1962-1963), the Mendes André House (1966-1967), the Elza Berquó House (1967) and the Martirani House (1969-1974), all in São Paulo.

Text in English and Spanish


Look inside:

More books in Backlist Architecture